.

Maryland Civil War Characters Perform, Hold Tours

 ,   Add to calendar
 201 W Monument St Baltimore MD 21201  See map

Members of the professional acting troup The Maryland Historical Society Players will bring historical figures back to life.

Visit the Maryland Historical Society on the weekends to watch the act of the day, and to take a tour with the character.

Guided, 30-minute tours are held at 12:30 p.m. and 2:30 p.m., with 15-minute living history performances at 1:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays through June 3.

"Audience members will experience the Pratt Street Riots and explore humanities themes, including slavery, freedom, causes of the Civil War, states; rights, race relations, political diisions within families, women;s roles, and perspectives of social justice," according to a news release from the society.

Visitors can interact with the characters in discussions after performances, and during the tours.

Admission to the performances and tours is free with the regular $6 museum entry fee.

Here is the schedule of living history performances depicting Maryland-based characters:

Saturday, April 21—Christian Fleetwood

Sunday, April 22—John Wilkes Booth

Saturday, April 28—Clara Barton

Sunday, April 29—Ned Rich

Saturday, May 5—Rebecca Davis

Sunday, May 6—Ned Rich

Saturday, May 12—Harriet Tubman

Sunday, May 13—John Wilkes Booth

Saturday, May 19—Rebecca Davis

Sunday, May 20—Clara Barton

Saturday, May 26—John Wilkes Booth

Sunday, May 27—Christian Fleetwood

Saturday, June 2—Ned Rich

Sunday, June 3—Harriet Tubman

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »